Answer Writing

English Hindi

Question-2Which countries are the core members of the Quadrilateral Security Dialogue? Did the rise of China in the region play a role in its formation?

Answer: The QUAD is an informal multilateral grouping of India, the U.S., Australia, and Japan aimed at cooperation for a free and open Indo Pacific region.

While not stated explicitly by the leaders, a major basis for the grouping is to check China’s growing influence in the region.

Formation of QUAD

  • China’s rising economic power undermined the traditional role of the United States of America in the Asia-Pacific region since the early 2000s.
  • Then Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe, who had been promoting the idea of an “arc of prosperity and freedom”, brought the QUAD countries closer together.
  • Coming together to foster a free and open Indo Pacific formed the bedrock of cooperation.

Major reasons for formation of QUAD

  • China’s aggressive trade pacts and influence in groupings such as RCEP and TPP is capturing trade void left by US.
  • Over reliance on China for supply chain could be detrimental to economy, as realized during the pandemic. There is a need for diversification.
  • China has been bullying smaller Pacific states by claiming right over oceans of the region. US and the like-minded countries are making all efforts to keep Oceans free.

Thus, QUAD will need to have a clearer vision for itself. It is important for members of the QUAD not to be reactive. It is also important to exhibit openness, and ensure that all talk of a ‘Free and Open Indo-Pacific’ is more than just a mere slogan.

Tags: GS 2 ( International relations)

By- Prashant Tiwari

Updated on 26 May 2022 |   Added on .26 May 2022  |  by admin