English Hindi


Governance & Social Justice

International Relations


Art & Culture

Padma Awards 2019

Padma Awards 2019


  • Prelims bits ||Awards & Honours

Why in news?

  • President Ram Nath Kovind conferred the Padma Awards, one of the highest civilian awards of the category, to 112 people from various disciplines. The awards were conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.

 About the awards

  • The Padma Vibhushan is the second highest civilian award in India.
  • The Padma Bhushan is the third highest civilian award in India.
  • The Padma Shri is the fourth highest civilian award in India.
  • The Padma Awards were instituted in the year 1954, and is announced every year on the occasion of Republic Day except for brief interruption(s) during the years 1978 and 1979 and 1993 to 1997.

How are people nominated for the padma awards?

  • The state governments, union territory administrations, central ministries and departments, the institutions of Excellence etc submit the recommendations for the Padma awards.
  • These nominations are then considered by an Awards Committee who give their recommendations.The Padma Awards Committee is constituted by the Prime Minister every year

 Who are eligible ?

  • All persons without distinction of race, occupation, position or sex are eligible for these awards.
  • However, except doctors and scientists, government servants including those working with PSUs, are not eligible for the Padma Awards.

 2019 awards

  • These awards are conferred by the President of India at ceremonial functions which are held at Rashtrapati Bhawan usually around March/ April every year.
  • This year the President of India has approved conferment of 112 Padma Awards including one duo case (in a duo case, the Award is counted as one) as per list below.
  • The list comprises 4 Padma Vibhushan, 14 Padma Bhushan and 94 Padma Shri Awards.

 2019 padma vibhushan awardee